Hadrys's Weblog

Home office and mobile computing

Processing power

leave a comment »

I’m just wondering about today’s computers processing power. Recently my GPU died and I was forced to buy a new one. The choice was quite simple and now I have a monstrous Gainward 8800GT 1GB Golden Sample. Damn this is a fine piece of hardware. But the question is why people still want loads of CPU power now days?

My rig is rather average (edit: not as average as I thought earlier) as this is AMD A64 X2 3800+ dual core (2GHz running cool&quiet…), 2GB of Patriot 800Mhz and Asus M2N SLI Deluxe. On this rig now every game just flies at max details and 1680×1050 resolution. I have also two Raptors in RAID 0 which kick ass and give the biggest performance boost in desktop performance, but this has nothing to do with processing power. While picking my new GPU many users warned me that my CPU would not be sufficient but overclocking my CPU gave a tiny, irrelevant performance gain, visible only in benchmarks. I’m asking once again, why would you buy some top-end Intel Extreme Core Duo for example if a simple under 50 EUR AMD is fine? Does GT and Raptors make the whole difference?

Read the Gainward review.

Update: I’ve found Tom’s Hardware benchmark on this subject and see how irrelevant becomes the difference with hi-res and hi-detail vs CPU. The author states that it’s a huge gap… yeah at 1024×768 but who wants to play at this res? I have a 20″ widescreen so I want to play at max resolution of 1680×1050 and in this territory who cares about 5% for that kind of money? After some tests, both Test Drive Unlimited and Oblivion produce slightly better performance than Tom’s tests on much stronger machines.

Written by Hadrys

May 15, 2008 at 00:39

Posted in 7/Vista experience

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

