Hadrys's Weblog

Home office and mobile computing

Restore/fix dial skin in WM6

with one comment

Yesterday I’ve downloaded some dial skins for my WM6 phone and one of them turned out to be QVGA. It was a mess and I couldn’t uninstall it or overwrite with another one, probably because the file was locked in use. Before I gave up and reinstalled my OS I’ve searched through the registry. Looking for the name of the skin turned out results pointing at phcan(name).dll files.

Manipulating with those entries and changing them all to phcan.dll located in Windows directory released the main theme file and after the reset the default skin was back and I was able to uninstall this crap. Probably pointing to an non existing file would do the same trick because now I can’t find any of those files. Concluding – in case you’ve get yourself into trouble, first check the registry against the name of the app you’re fighting with. It might save you a lot of effort to revert your device.

Written by Hadrys

May 18, 2009 at 09:41

Posted in Office in my pocket

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Probably pointing to an non existing file would do the same trick because now I can’t find any of those files. Concluding – in case you’ve get yourself into trouble, first check the registry against the name of the app you’re fighting with. It might save you a lot of effort to revert your device.”
    Something I doubt …

    traplecent

    December 14, 2010 at 17:06


Leave a Reply

