Hadrys's Weblog

Home office and mobile computing

How stable is 7?

leave a comment »

Well it looks like 7 is the most stable OS I’ve ever had and I’ve used all of Windows since DOS. Currently my computer is running for 38 days without any restarts. It goes to sleep most nights, from time to time it hibernates if I need to shut down the power. This is very cool and convenient as I don’t need to close my apps anymore, they’re always there and I would panic if suddenly I’d have to close everything.

Memory management is also sweet, stable OS is one thing but more important is that it doesn’t get sluggish while using. If you close a large program all the memory is neatly retrieved. Finally updates install quietly, so literally there is no need for restart.

Another thing is the latest Microsoft Security Essentials anti virus/spyware. I’m testing it since it was launched few days ago and it’s the first AV soft which doesn’t make my computer useless. In fact it works so well that I don’t even notice it. Probably worth trying.

w7 uptime

Written by Hadrys

October 6, 2009 at 20:52

Leave a Reply

